Following three days of networking and discussions on the future of the Canadian maritime industry at its annual conference and AGM in Nanaimo, B.C., the Association of Canadian Port Authorities (ACPA) announced its new Board of Directors, Chair, Vice-Chair and Corporate Secretary/Treasurer for 2013-2014.

Sylvie Vachon, President and Chief Executive Officer of Montreal Port Authority, was unanimously elected by the Board of Directors to be Chair of the Board for 2013-14. Ms. Vachon became President and CEO of Montreal Port Authority in August 2009. She also serves as Chair of the Board of Directors of the Logistics and Transportation Cluster of Greater Montreal (CargoM), as well as being a Board member of Cascades Inc., and a Governing Member of the Conseil patronal de l’environnement du Québec.

“I am deeply honoured to have been elected Chair of the Board of Directors of the Association of the Canadian Port Authorities. I will always strive to be up to the task. I am also committed to contribute to the success of ACPA’s current and future initiatives and to promote relentlessly the strategic importance of Canada’s Port Authorities”, said Ms. Vachon.

Bernie Dumas, President and CEO of Nanaimo Port Authority, was elected incoming Vice-Chair of the Board. Mr. Dumas is a 30-year veteran of the marine transportation and shipping industries. He is credited with growing the Vancouver-based China (Canada) Shipping Agency from startup eight years ago to a firm that now ranks fifth in the global container trade.

Pierre Gagnon, President and CEO of Port of Sept-Îles, was welcomed as incoming Corporate Secretary/Treasurer. Mr. Gagnon returns to the Board after a year-long absence.

ACPA’s full Board of eight consists of the following members:

Sylvie Vachon, Montreal Port Authority
Bernie Dumas, Nanaimo Port Authority
Pierre Gagnon, Sept-Îles Port Authority
Sean Hanrahan, St. John’s Port Authority
Karen Oldfield, Halifax Port Authority
Mario Girard, Quebec Port Authority
Angus Armstrong, Toronto Port Authority
Robin Silvester, Vancouver Fraser Port Authority (Past Chair).