Mariners’ House held its Annual General Meeting on June 28, and all but one of the members of the previous Board return to their former positions. Joyce Hammock, Publisher and Editor of Canadian Sailings Transportation & Trade Logistics, continues as President of the organization, founded 150 years ago as the Montreal Sailors’ Club and which joined forces with the Catholic Sailors’ Club in 1968.

John Gareau, President of Seamont Brokerage & Transport remains Secretary, while Michael Fratianni, Chief Financial Officer for Montreal Gateway Terminals Partnership, is First Vice-President and Mario Minotti, Director of Finance & Administration for the Shipping Federation of Canada, is Second Vice-President and Treasurer. Tom Brodeur is the ex-officio President.

Also continuing to serve on the 2012-2013 Board are: Jean Bédard, Jean-Luc Bédard, Michael H. Belmer, P. Jeremy Bolger, Michael H. Broad, Christopher Gillespie, Ross Kennedy, Tim McBoyle, Flavio Tiseo, Josh VanderVeen and Robert Zeagman.

Mariners’ House will host its Annual Ball on November 2, 2012. The event, chaired by Ross Kennedy, will mark the organization’s 150th anniversary. Taking place in the stylish Windsor Ballrooms, the entertainment will be provided by Paul Chacra “1945” Band. All supporters are urged to attend this celebration of Mariners’ House’s many years of service on behalf of Montreal’s maritime community.