The American Trucking Associations’ Safety Management Council announced its 2012 award winners at its recently held Safety & Human Resources National Conference & Exhibition in Kansas City.

The ATA President’s Trophy recognizes the three companies whose fleets have been judged to have the best overall safety programs from the Truck & Industrial Safety Contests. These Contests judge motor carriers on their safety accomplishments and safety records relative to others within their operation type and size. The top three ATA President’s Trophy recipients are honored for their superior safety achievements, outstanding commitment to industry-wide safety and extensive promotion of safety among all highway users.

Winnipeg-based Bison Transport won the award in the large fleet category (over 100 million miles annually). It is the second year in a row that Bison the lowest accident rate in its category.

Bison also received ATA’s Safety Improvement Award for its reduction in workplace accidents and injuries.