The Board of Directors of Chamber of Marine Commerce (CMC) has announced the appointment of Bruce R. Burrows as President, effective December 1st, 2016. Burrows joins the Chamber as the bi-national industry association enters a new chapter, having recently completed a merger with the Canadian Shipowners Association in September.

Burrows brings almost 35 years of government relations, business development and consensus-building expertise to the position, with senior leadership roles in the commercial transportation and industry association sectors.

“Bruce’s considerable experience advocating on behalf of the transportation sector and his collaborative leadership style will be a significant asset to our newly merged association,” said Wayne Smith, Chair of CMC.  “An efficient regulatory climate is central to continued investment by industry in the Great Lakes-St. Lawrence region and our coastal communities. Building strong relationships with North American government, business and community stakeholders will be paramount to achieving that goal.”

“The marine industry provides safe, sustainable transportation that plays an essential role in supporting the North American economy. I am excited to work with the Chamber team, members, partners and governments to ensure the marine industry captures new growth opportunities while serving one of the world’s most dynamic regions,” said Bruce Burrows.

Burrows started his career at Canadian Pacific, holding successively senior roles in the areas of marketing, asset management and government relations across Canada and in the U.K. He was Vice-President and acting President and CEO of the Rail Association of Canada between 2000 and 2013, where among other achievements he improved cross-border operations for rail with a new Canada/U.S. border action plan. He is currently Senior Associate at Ottawa-based TACTIX Government Relations and Public Affairs.

Burrows is also a board member of The Vimy Foundation. In 2012, he was awarded the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal for his work to preserve and promote Canada’s First World War legacy.