CITT has announced the 2016 winners of its academic awards. The six awards, which are given to those who receive top marks in CITT’s specialized logistics courses towards the CCLP®  (CITT-Certified Logistics Professional) designation, will be presented at Canada Logistics Conference 2016 in Saint John, New Brunswick, on October 26-28.

“This year’s award winners have a great mix of backgrounds and roles, really representing the diversity of professionals who work toward and hold the CCLP designation” said Catherine Viglas, CITT President & CEO. “Some are newer to the industry, looking to take their careers to the next level. Others have decades of experience, and have looked to the CCLP designation as further proof of their expertise, or to become familiar with aspects of Canadian supply chain logistics they haven’t encountered elsewhere in their careers. We’re proud to be chosen as a source of career development for talented, driven professionals across the sector.”

One of the rising stars Pam Humphries, has been in the sector for six years, starting with Avalon Customs Brokers after completing her degree at Memorial University. “The work has really helped fine-tune my abilities in supply chain logistics. In an industry as complex as ours, every bit of knowledge is valuable” she said. Management at Avalon Customs Brokers were eager to note the value she brings to their team: “Pamela, besides being our logistics lead, is also a Certified Customs Broker and a fully qualified Ships Agent who can multitask quite efficiently between all three disciplines. It gives us a great sense of pride to see how confident and successful she has become in her time with us.”

Another award winner, Jennifer Fowlow, CCLP, now holds the CCLP designation in her 7th year in the industry. Starting her career at Hitachi Construction Truck Manufacturing working in various departments, Mrs. Fowlow was drawn to the pace and complexity of her work in logistics. After getting a permanent role in transportation at Hitachi, she and decided to earn her CCLP designation at the recommendation of a manager. “The course work has really helped give me knowledge that I could use every day at work. And, it’s given me the confidence and abilities to create a proposal that management was very impressed with and willing to act on.”

Other award winners are senior veterans with deep experience, who came to CITT to build their already impressive careers. The full list of award winners is:

Charles Laferle Memorial Award

Pamela Humphries, Logistics Lead, Avalon Customs Brokers, a Division of A. Harvey & Company Limited

Robert A. Hains Memorial Award

Said Adada, Supply Chain Manager

Thomas J. McTague Memorial Award

Jennifer Fowlow, CCLP, HR/ISO Coodinator, Hitatchi Construction Truck Manufacturing

J. Stuart Robertson Memorial Award

Jacqueline Muzia, CCLP, Client Service Lead, Ocean Imports, DB Schenker Canada

Charles D. Edsforth Memorial Award

Adrian Fenech, CCLP, Ocean Specialist – International Transportation, Canadian Tire Corporation

James T. MacKenzie Memorial Gold Award

Gary Newbury, CCLP, Last Mile Project Lead, Gordon Food Service