First SEAWAY award to be presented at Grunt Club Annual Dinner

Washington, D.C.-based Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation (SLSDC) and Cornwall, Ontario-based The St. Lawrence Seaway Management Corporation (SLSMC) announced the creation of the SEAWAY Award that will be awarded jointly by the two Seaway Corporations.  The purpose of the award is to recognize and reward an organization or individual within the stakeholder community of the Great Lakes-St. Lawrence Seaway System that exhibits the qualities of innovation, creativity, entrepreneurship, tenacity and leadership that has resulted in positive benefits and results for the System.

Terence Bowles, President and CEO of SLSMC, commented, “We have an incredibly diverse group of stakeholders and want to ensure that we publically recognize the extraordinary contributions we see on a continual basis from our stakeholders.  This award will help ensure that proper recognition is given to those organizations or individuals that have done something exceptional for the Seaway System.”

U.S. and Canadian stakeholders are eligible to receive the award.  This includes ports or port directors, shipowners, cargo owners or shippers, labour, agents, educational organizations, municipalities, elected officials, NGOs, environmental groups, or any others who participate in the operation and functioning of the Seaway System. Employees of the U.S. or Canadian Seaway Corporations are not eligible. Senior staff of both Seaway Corporations will submit nominations and the winner will be determined by the SLSDC Administrator and SLSMC President.  Stakeholders should contact an SLSDC or SLSMC senior staff member to make a recommendation.

Beginning this year, one SEAWAY Award will be awarded annually by the Administrator of SLSDC and the President of SLSMC at the Grunt Club-Stakeholders Reception held the first Thursday of December in Montreal, Quebec.