The government of Canada recently announced the creation of a Canada Port Authority to operate the Port of Oshawa, to replace management of the Port through the Harbour Commission model under which the port had been operating.The creation of the Oshawa  Port Authority brings the number of Canada Port Authorities to 18.

The announcement was made jointly by Jim Flaherty, Finance Minister and MP for the riding of Oshawa-Whitby, Oshawa MP Colin Carrie, and former Commission Chairman Gary Valcour. Mr. Flaherty commented that “CPA status will bring certainty and stability with respect to the port’s long term direction, which will help attract investment to the region, support economic growth, and create jobs”.

A principal difference between Harbour Commissions and Canada Port Authorities is that the latter, in addition to government (shareholder) representation, have stakeholder representation on their governing boards. In the case of Oshawa, there will be representatives of harbor users, the Ontario government, as well as the City of Oshawa.

The port is located at the eastern edge of the Greater Toronto Area. It is capable of accommodating any size or type of vessel entering the Seaway System and serves a range of industries that are dependent on reliable, cost-effective marine transportation.

Gary Valcour, who chaired the Harbour Commission, has become the Port Authority’s first Chairman.