On May 14, the new Hector-Louis-Langevin Park was inaugurated in Trois-Rivières, Quebec, named after the Member of Parliament for Trois-Rivières and Minister of Public Works of Canada, who, on May 17, 1882, tabled the bill creating the Trois-Rivières Harbour Commission.
The $575,000 project involved transforming a parking lot into a new green space and reflects a commitment to provide Trois-Rivières residents with unobstructed access to the banks of the St. Lawrence and Saint-Maurice rivers over a distance of more than two kilometres. This will encourage families, residents and visitors to Trois-Rivières to adopt a healthy and active lifestyle.
Yves Lévesque, the enthusiastic Mayor of Trois-Rivières, is delighted with the excellent co-operation that has been established with the Port Authority over the years. “Together, we have worked hard in recent years to develop the cruise ship industry. The new Hector-Louis-Langevin Park will welcome tourists and residents of Trois-Rivières alike, and will allow them to discover the history of the Port of Trois-Rivières,” explained Mr. Lévesque. The City of Trois-Rivières will assume responsibility for the Park’s management.
“When upgrading our port infrastructure, in terms of the use of the riverside areas, we wanted to strike a balance between the Port’s social, environmental and economic responsibilities, which would benefit both Port users and the residents of Trois-Rivières,” stated Cléo Marchand, Chair of Trois Rivieres Port Authority’s Board of Directors.
One of 18 Canadian Port Authorities, Port of Trois-Rivières has been in operation for 130 years and provides a wide range of facilities and services for the marine industry year round.
Hector Louis Langevin (1826-1906) was a journalist, lawyer and Quebec politician, who became one of the Fathers of Confederation. The Prime Minister’s Office and the Privy Council Office are located in the Langevin Block (1889), named in his honour.